Guide to EASA Part 66 Licence categories

An Exhaustive Guide to EASA Part 66 Licence – What Are the Different Categories?

As aviation engineering presents exciting opportunities for maintenance engineers, more mechanics and technicians seek licensing and certification. The European Aviation Safety Agency Part-66 certificates are the official aircraft licence issued by the Overseas Security Advisory Council (OSAC) under EASA’s authority.

With this licence, aviation engineers, technicians, and mechanics seeking to work as aircraft maintenance professionals can gain the necessary certification. Below, we’ll explore the different aircraft mechanic licences and the steps to get authorized:

Exploring the Categories of an EASA Part 66 licence

There are four primary types of EASA part-66 licences, including:

Category A Licence: Line Maintenance Certifying Mechanic

The A Category aviation licence comprises minor scheduled line and defect maintenance and rectification. Its sub-division includes A1 turbine-engined airplanes, piston-engined airplanes, A3 turbine-engine helicopters, and A4 piston-engined helicopters.

Obtaining a Category A licence involves training with a maintenance organization for 650 to 800 hours to meet the eligibility criteria for authorization. With this licence, you gain certification for numerous tasks, such as airplane turbine or piston.


EASA Part 66 Licence


Category B1 Licence: Mechanical Maintenance Certifying Engineer 

Aviation mechanics with a ‘B1’ Category licence can maintain the aircraft’s structure, electrical systems, engines, and mechanical components. Additionally, licenced aircraft technicians have the authority to certify tasks related to avionics.

The B1 Category includes turbine-engined fixed-wing airplanes, piston-engined fixed-wing airplanes, turbine-engined helicopters, and piston-engined helicopters. Aircraft mechanics seeking this certification must complete a fully approved 2000 to 2400 hours course. Besides, aviation engineers with a B1 Category enjoy A Category authorization!


Category B2 Licence: Avionics Maintenance Certifying Technician

The B2 Category allows aviation engineers and mechanics to maintain avionics, electrical, and mechanical systems. Moreover, aircraft technicians with this licence can conduct minor scheduled line maintenance, tests, and defect rectification.

If you’re seeking a category B2 licence, aviation engineers must have at least one year of maintenance experience and complete a 2400-hour module course.


Category C Licence: Hangar or Base Maintenance Certifying Engineer

A mechanic with a Category C licence can perform hangar services alongside the services involved in the B1 Category and B2 Category. Once technicians tick all the boxes in EASA Part-66 documentation, they become eligible to certify all these services.

Moreover, a C Category mechanic can sign the CRS to ensure an aircraft is ready for take-off, conduct repairs and maintenance, and issue the necessary service certificates. Aviation engineers and technicians seeking this Category must serve as certifying staff for at least three years.


How to Get Your EASA Part-66 Certificate: Step-by-Step Guide

EASA Part 66 Licence categories


If you’re ready to earn your EASA Part-66 certificate, you must follow these steps:


Step 1: Gain Basic Training

Obtaining an EASA Part-66 certificate starts with passing high school and enrolling in an EASA Part-147 Training School. Depending on your interests, you can apply for A1, B1, or B2 and complete up to 2400 hours of theory and practical learning.

Most modules have a 50:50 or 60:40 practical and theory ratio, depending on how they apply to the National Aviation Authority. Furthermore, you’ll have three options to earn basic training, including a course, technical trade school, or an MTO examination.


Step 2: Get Basic Experience

Once you gain basic training, you must join the airlines or MRO to gain real-life experience. The EASA requires students to gain a minimum 2-year experience to apply to NAA for their aircraft licence.

Moreover, the working time must be documented in a log book and stamped by the Certifying Staff.


Step 3: Apply for Your EASA Part-66 licence

You can apply to the European National Civil Aviation Authorities (CAA) with your course completion or examination certificate. Ensure you have a copy of your documents and submit it to your quality manager to gain a certified one.

Next, download Form 19, fill it out, and attach the necessary documents via courier or email. You can determine the required certificates by emailing your country’s certification authorities and requesting assistance.

After the concerned personnel accepts your documents, you’ll receive your Part Basic 66 licence and an email announcing your authorization.


Step 4: Attend Theoretical and Practical Type Training

To become a globally recognized aviation engineer, you must attend and finish a Part 147 AMTO course. The theoretical part can take five to six weeks, depending on your chosen aircraft type. You receive a Certificate of Recognition upon passing.

In addition, you must attend and finish a Part 147 AMTO training on a specific aircraft for at least two weeks. Once done, you’ll earn a CoR for passing the practical course.


Step 5: Complete a Structured On-the-Job Training

Aircraft mechanics seeking their first endorsement must complete on-the-job training at an EASA Part-145 AMO/MRO. Before applying for OJT, learners must ask NAA if they will accept the certificate.

Typically, the duration for OJT varies between two to four months, depending on the AMO. Besides, completing on-the-job training makes you eligible for the first type rating!


Step 6: Apply for Type Rating and Enjoy!

Apply to the CAA, which issued your AML by downloading and filling out the EASA Form 19. Ensure you attach the required documents and certificates for a smooth, hassle-free operation.

Once your form gets approved, you’ll earn your first type rating endorsed in your EASA Part-66 certificate!


The Bottom Line

Obtaining an EASA Part-66 certificate is a fantastic way to enter the aviation maintenance field, allowing mechanics and technicians to earn specializations in high-paying divisions. Depending on your interests, you can select one of four categories, including A, B1, B2, and C.

Moreover, if you’re ready to achieve your EASA Part-66 certification, follow these six simple steps. Once done, you’ll have your licence to demonstrate your competence and commitment to safety in the aviation landscape!