EASA Part 66 licence

How to get an EASA Part 66 licence?

We have prepared a step-by-step explanation of the process to obtain your EASA Part 66 licence.

Research and Understand Requirements:

Familiarize yourself with the requirements set by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) for obtaining the Part-66 licecse. This includes age limits, educational qualifications, and relevant work experience.


Choose a Part-147 Approved Maintenance Training Organization (AMTO):

Select an AMTO that provides the necessary training for the aircraft maintenance category you are interested in. Ensure that the AMTO is approved by EASA or one of the EASA Civil Aviation Authorities (CAA).


Enroll in Training:

Enroll in the EASA Part-66 training program offered by the chosen AMTO. The training will cover theoretical and practical aspects.


Complete Theoretical Knowledge Training:

Attend and successfully complete the theoretical knowledge training, which includes studying modules related to your chosen aircraft maintenance category. These modules cover topics such as aerodynamics, electrical systems, engines, and maintenance practices.


Gain Practical Experience:

Obtain practical experience by working under the supervision of a licenced aircraft maintenance engineer. The required duration of practical experience varies depending on the category and subcategories of the licence.


Prepare for Examinations:

Study and prepare for the EASA Part-66 examinations. The examinations consist of multiple-choice and essay questions that assess your theoretical knowledge in the respective aircraft maintenance category.


Take the Examinations:

Part 66 exam licence


Schedule and appear for the EASA Part-66 at your chosen AMTO for examinations at an approved examination center. The exams are conducted under the approved examiner in a controlled environment. Certificate of Recognition for each exam is gained after the successful completion of the module exam.


Document completion for licence application:

Compile all the necessary documents; Certificates of Recognition for passed exams, Log Book as a proof of your practical experience and fulfilled application form (EASA Form 19), as per the requirements specified by EASA.


Licence Application:

Submit your application with all documents for the EASA Part-66 licence to any EU Civil Aviation Authority (CAA).


EASA Part 66 Blank Licence Issuance

Upon successful evaluation of your application, your chosen CAA will issue your EASA Part-66 licence, which is the proof of your qualifications for the licenced engineer.

The next step is to endorse aircraft type(s) into your EASA licence. To endorse the first aircraft type into your licence you must attend a chosen Type training course, which covers detailed theoretical and practical acknowledgment with the aircraft.

You will also have to attend On the Job Training (OJT) for this aircraft type in one of the approved EASA Part-145 Aircraft Maintenance Organization (AMO). For the second ant all consecutive aircraft type endorsements you need to pass the aircraft related Type training course, but the OJT is not necessary any more.



It’s important to note that the exact process and requirements may vary slightly depending on the CAA and country where you are pursuing the EASA Part-66 licence.


If you prefer a more visual step by step walkthrough you are welcome to see our EASA Part 66 licence visual guide.